Search

 

Home > Postgraduate > MSc(Eng) Electrical Engineering

Master of Science in Engineering specialising in Electrical Engineering

The Department prepares candidates for the Master of Science in Engineering in Electrical Engineering and for the Doctor of Philosophy. The Department offers a number of special postgraduate courses each year some of which are scheduled to facilitate attendance by practising engineers from industry. The majority of courses are full-time and cover a variety of topics. The Master of Science in Engineering can be either by dissertation only [EM023] or by coursework (approved by your supervisor) and dissertation [EM024].

 

Research Master’s by Dissertation  [EM023EEE01]

Core Courses

Number Course NQF Credits HEQSF Level
EEE5000W Dissertation Electrical Engineering 180 9
END5050X Master’s journal paper 0 9
Total credits   180  

 

Research Master’s by Coursework and Dissertation [EM024EEE01]

Core Courses

Number Course NQF Credits HEQSF Level
EEE5002W Dissertation Electrical Engineering 120 9
  Elective courses approved by supervisor 60 9
EEE5103Z Dissertation Preparation 0 9
END5050X Master’s journal paper 0 9
Total credits   180  

 

Before making an online application for a Research Masters, you are strongly advised to make contact with one of the Academic staff members listed below to discuss your research interest.

Research Area Staff member
Bio-Inspired Robotics Dr Amir Patel
Commensal Radar Research daniel.ohagan@uct.ac.za
Control Systems and Mechatronics Professor Edward Boje
Electronic & Accelerated Computational Engineering alireza.baghai-wadji@uct.ac.za
Electronics Andrew.Wilkinson@uct.ac.za
Electronics Mr Samuel Ginsberg
Future Internet Technologies Joyce.Mwangama@uct.ac.za
Image Processing & Vision Systems Fred.Nicolls@uct.ac.za
Control & Instrumentation Engineering Mohohlo.Tsoeu@uct.ac.za
Machines & Power Electronics Azeem.Khan@uct.ac.za
Microwave and Millimeter Wave Engineering Riana.Geschke@uct.ac.za
Mobile Robotics Robyn.Verrinder@uct.ac.za
Power & Energy Systems Protection Sunetra.Chowdhury@uct.ac.za
Power Electronics, Drives & Machines Paul.Barendse@uct.ac.za
Power System Network Studies Kehinde.Awodele@uct.ac.za
Power Network Optimization, Control and Stability komla.folly@uct.ac.za
Renewable Energy, Geomagnetically-induced Currents, Transformers and Power System Stability David.Oyedokun@uct.ac.za
Space Technology Peter.Martinez@uct.ac.za
Signal Processing Amit.Mishra@uct.ac.za
Software Defined Radio Simon.Winberg@uct.ac.za
Telecommunications Network Management Alexandru.Murgu@uct.ac.za
Telecommunications Networks Olabisi.Falowo@uct.ac.za
Telecommunications Systems Mqhele.Dlodlo@uct.ac.za